The wood doctor


The wood doctor

Username: wood
URL: http://www.wooddoctorfurnace.com/
Category: Boiler sites
Member Since: 2006-03-11
Average Rating: 3 / 5
Number of Ratings: 26
Rate and Review This Site
Show All Reviews

3/5

Reviews


2011-07-25 12:27:25
Terrible service.Leaking from somewhere in the roof and no answer from Wood Doctor on how to fix the problem

2010-02-15 18:56:57
I owned a Wood Doctor Converter model and operated it in eastern Canada. It burned about 14 bush cords of hardwood per year to heat my 2500 square foot house. I had to replace it after one year due to a leak. I had lots of problems with the WD people who have no technical knowledge of what they sell (i was dealing with the owners of the WD firm in Nova Scotia). The unit also requires very frequent maintenance, including a very painstaking cleaning of the blower vanes every month due to creosote/ash accumulation. It is a poor design in terms of minimizing maintenance and clearly there is a manufacturing problem since the new unit has started leaking after one year. All leaks in both units seem to be in the weld beads in the burning chamber. The downdraft gasifier idea is good, but the manufacturing is poor and the post-sales service is ridiculously bad.

2009-11-30 20:18:13
No general knowledge when you call them, the dealers are just selling snake oil. AVOID THE WOOD DOCTOR FURNACE AT ALL COST.

2009-11-21 18:35:45
Own the 14000 model going on 3 years and love it. Would buy another

2009-08-02 05:53:56
Fast overnight shipping! acai berry body detox cialis no prescription sildenafil citrate rem again

2009-07-27 16:44:53
I have two other brands at different rentals and this one at my own house no real problems but the door gasket get covered and will leak a cleaning once a month with mils soap will take care of it good heater does my hot water and heats my home used 7 cord last winter to heat 2000 sq ft home would buy another if needed

2008-09-16 14:46:46
Have a wood doctor stainless not any good cant get fixed leaking everewhere so much for 6000.00 investment only 2 years old was suposed to have had a boller plate model ant got stainless instead would not buy another

2008-01-14 18:26:58
Converter Owner
The machine is amazing, efficient, and heats the 300 gallons of water in about 15 - 20 min with circ pump on, you can hear the water/glycol percilating.
Tonnes of Brick is used it's 3800 lbs empty and with the downdraft design fire brick is completely unecessary on the fire box sides, its a downdraft!! Comes with a timer, giving complete control of the cycles/hr so red coals never go out you can keep your bricks as hot as you want to reduce smoke on startup of firing cycle. We are In an urban area neighbors are happy due to mostly smokeless operation
Excellent unit, likes to work hard, so mild winter/or not enough heat demand is wasting your money, and see some creasote buildup in exchanger tubes - easy to clean.
The Negitives: is the method of construction for the loading door, creasote builds up on gasket and causes air leaks and wastes wood. solution tiger torch. And like to see less water/antifreeze loss through evaporation - but nothing to compare to so I live with it - loses as per owners manual notes.
And Unit really needs a shutdown feature after fuel as been completely exhausted, say when water drops to 100-120F it shuts off main power!

Final note: long after fire is out the 300 gallon gives us heat for 12-14 hrs(H2O temp 100-120F minimum)


2007-09-05 05:23:32
Have had a Wood Doctor for about 6 years now. Absolutely love it. No problems. An absolutely excellent stove.

2006-06-03 04:50:39
2006-02-17 Your engineering analysis is suspect and quite frankly useless at best.

2006-03-17 17:00:42
I have not personally tested any wood doctor products, but here is my engineering analysis based on the web site.

The "traditional" outdoor boiler has the same pitfalls as other makes, the fire is surrounded by a water jacket, so there is no chance of clean combustion.

The "Converter" is a downdraft boiler, which has a better chance of giving clean combustion and good efficiency, but according to the diagram on the site, the main firebox has no refractory material, so the burn will only be clean in the center of the wood pile. But at least this company is heading in the correct direction with their "convertor" design.




Stats


Daily Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.4 0.4
Today 0 0 0 0 0 0
Yesterday 0 0 0 0 0 0
December 20 0 0 0 0 1 1
December 19 0 0 0 0 2 2
December 18 0 0 0 0 0 0
December 17 0 0 0 0 0 0
December 16 0 0 0 0 0 0
December 15 0 0 0 0 1 1
December 14 0 0 0 0 0 0
December 13 0 0 0 0 0 0
Highest 1 1 0 0 18 24

Weekly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 3.7 6.0
This Week 0 0 0 0 0 0
Last Week 0 0 0 0 4 4
Week 50 0 0 0 0 2 2
Week 49 0 0 0 0 2 2
Week 48 0 0 0 0 5 27
Week 47 0 0 0 0 4 5
Week 46 0 0 0 0 6 6
Week 45 0 0 0 0 6 6
Week 44 0 0 0 0 3 3
Week 43 0 0 0 0 5 5
Highest 1 1 0 0 67 69

Monthly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 14.8 18.8
This Month 0 0 0 0 8 8
Last Month 0 0 0 0 21 44
October 14 0 0 0 0 18 18
September 14 0 0 0 0 25 28
August 14 0 0 0 0 0 0
July 14 0 0 0 0 25 26
June 14 0 0 0 0 30 43
May 14 0 0 0 0 0 0
April 14 0 0 0 0 0 0
March 14 0 0 0 0 21 21
Highest 1 1 0 0 170 174

Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Overall 1 1 0 0 3,738 3,926